Skip to main content

Common Core State Standards

Common Core Standards. What are they?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade.  In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.  The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and Math.  These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).  Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state.  Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace. 

Common Core Weblinks

Common Core Parent Information Booklets

The Tehama County Department of Education has prepared parent booklets for each grade level designed to give parents information on what the Common Core State Standards are, how they are used in the classroom, and tips and resources on how to help you, help your child.  These booklets are available in both English and Spanish.